Makeup Revolution’s £5 Foundation: Review

As a makeup addict, I find myself spending a lot of time, scrolling through YouTube and catching up with my favourite beauty guru’s latest videos. As I was lying in bed the other night, I watched a video by MyPaleSkin, where she was reviewing a new £5 foundation stick from beauty brand Revolution Makeup. She couldn’t have raved about this beauty product enough: the coverage, the application and the price. Instantly, I was intrigued.

 

Revolution Makeup has made a splash in the beauty world. This cruelty-free (and vegan), drugstore brand has taken the makeup world by storm, with its high quality products at an unbeatable price, that I’m sure they’re losing money. But they’ve also had their fair slice of controversy, by rolling out products that just seem a little too similar to high end products. For instance, their latest line of summer products seem identical to Too Faced chocolate palettes product line.

Makeup R

I Heart Revolution Nudes Chocolate Palette

Too Faced Palette

Too Faced Chocolate Gold Eyeshadow Palette

I’ve been a fan of Makeup Revolution’s eyeshadow palettes for a couple of years now, and have seen this brand expand from a few products, to a full makeup range where most of their products are under £10! Although some of their products have been hit and miss for me (I’d take a pass at the eyebrow products), I’ve also found some products that I will be buying for years to come.

IMG_4662

Makeup Revolution Fast Base Stick Foundation – Shade F1

The next day after viewing MyPaleSkin’s review of Revolution Makeup £5 Face Base Stick Foundation, I drove to my nearest Superdrug and hunted this product down. This foundation range boasts 18 shades, which isn’t bad at all for a drugstore product line. I opted for the lightest shade – F1.

Now it’s time to see what the big deal is. I first applied my usual moisturisers and primers before applying the foundation. This was my first time using a foundation stick, so I applied two strokes on each of my cheeks and one side was blended with my beauty blender and the other side I used a brush. The colour match was pretty good (thankfully) and the coverage was decent. It took a bit longer to blend than my usual liquid foundations, but this is probably due to the fact that this is a solid foundation. I also found that it blended equally as well with the beauty blender and a brush. However, once it the foundation was blended, it melted into the skin nicely.

A handy thing with stick foundations, is that you can control the amount of coverage you want very easily. Much easier than liquid foundations. So I applied an extra stroke to my cheeks and found that it can build up to full-coverage very easily. However, I ran into trouble when I started applying the foundation to my T-Zone. I found that the foundation had become cakey very easily, even though I had only applied one stroke in each area. I took my care blending, but the product was refusing to blend as well as it had on my cheeks. This was disappointing. Although, this is probably due to my combination skin, meaning that my skin is both oily and dry in different areas of my face.

Although my concealer, powder and other products applied on top of the foundation nicely, my forehead and chin still appeared to look cakey and textured, as though I had applied a whole tube of this foundation.

IMG_4661But, I was highly impressed with how this product wore throughout the day. Apart from the texture on my forehead and chin, it kept my skin looking smooth on my cheeks and didn’t budge from my nose (which is where product usually slips away within an hour!). It also didn’t move when I would touch up my makeup with concealer and pressed powder.

Although this £5 foundation wasn’t a complete winner with my skin, it’s still an incredible product for its price. It blends well with a beauty blender and a brush and wears very well throughout the day. If you’re wanting a stick foundation, without the high end price tag, or are looking for a foundation that would work with oily skin, I would highly recommend this product.

Leave a comment